RSS Feed

Frankenstein

Posted on

Next thing to know about me: I love to read. Ever since I was a kid, I’ve always gone around with a book in my hand. I even take one into the bathroom. (Shhhh.) So you’re probably going to be getting a lot of book reviews, or at least information about what book I’m currently reading. I’ll try not to spoil anybody, though.

I got a Kindle a few years ago. I guess I should really say that I got my first Kindle a few years ago. I’m on my third one now, since I’m a sucker and buy a new one every time a new generation of hardware is released.

Anyway, one of the things I love about having a Kindle is that you can find public domain books for it for free. I’ve really enjoyed reading classics that I had never gotten around to before, and I have a long list to go yet. My favorite site to download classics from is feedbooks.com. Their ebooks are excellently formatted for the Kindle, and they also have neat extras, like short author bios and links to similar books. You should check them out.

So I just started Frankenstein by Mary Shelley. I actually did a report in college on her mother, Mary Wolstonecraft, who was quite an interesting lady, an early feminist. But it was thinking about possibly doing my report on the author of Frankenstein that led me to Wolstonecraft in the first place. So a few months ago I’d been thinking that I would like to read Frankenstein and had downloaded it to my Kindle. After finishing a book yesterday, I decided that I should read a classic next, and here I am. The prose is very eighteenth century, but I can get through it more easily now than I used to. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

