RSS Feed

Token bin Laden Post

Posted on

I know, it’s been a week since it happened. I’ve been busy, OK?

First, I want to say “thanks” and honor all those who were involved. From the intelligence analysts, up to President Obama, and back down the chain of command to the Navy SEALs who actually carried out the raid, everyone involved played their part perfectly. It was simply outstanding. This is what the United States of America is capable of, and it makes me very proud of my country. I think that the right decision was made, and the world is a better place without Osama bin Laden being alive in it.

Now I seriously don’t want to pull a Jesus juke here, but it does make me stop and think about my beliefs and how I feel about it as a Christian. Like I said before, I think that this mission was the right thing to do, and I am grateful to everyone involved. But my soul does cry for another soul who is lost forever from the love of God.

I didn’t always feel this way. I remember about 10 years ago, when I heard on the radio that Timothy McVeigh, one of the Oklahoma City bombers, had been executed. The first thought that came to my mind was, “I hope he roasts in hell.” Even at that moment, the viscousness of the thought surprised me. I’ve been on a long journey with God learning how to love my enemies, and I’m certainly not there yet. But it is a bit easier for me to see a little bit the eternal impact now.

In contrast, a well-known woman in my church passed away this week. She had been very ill, and it is a great blessing to know that she is now at home with the Lord. But the world is a poorer place because she is gone. We are sad that she is gone, but happy for her gain. Such a contrast.

Leave a Reply

