RSS Feed

Lostiversary

Posted on

Caution: Spoilers ahead. Continue reading at you own risk if you have not seen all of Lost.

So – wow – it’s been a whole year since Lost ended. I still haven’t found a show to replace it, and since there’s nothing good on, I’ve been watching old shows on Netflix. I had been watching FlashForward
while Lost was still on, but that became hard to keep up with. I had heard that it was getting better, but then they cancelled it. I’d still like to catch up on that one and see the whole season. This year, I tried The Event. If I hadn’t had school, I probably would have kept watching, but, as it is, I didn’t like it enough to stick with it. I do want to give Fringe another try. I had watched the first few episodes and gave up, but everybody says it’s gotten really good. I’m going to have to go out and find the DVDs first, though.

So….Lost. How about that ending, huh? As you know, I’m a Christian, so it didn’t exactly jive with my beliefs. However, I really didn’t expect it to. The writers had used Christian imagery quite a bit, but they also pulled stuff from a ton of other religions. The ending they wrote was true to the story as it was being told. Actually, the closest religious belief I could think of to the big reveal was the Hindu concept of Nirvana – dying and being reborn, to live life better and keep moving onward and upward. Although, now that I say it that way, I guess it also reminds me of The Last Battle (The Chronicles of Narnia, Book 7), at the very end, where all the characters who have been drawn into Paradise keep going “further up and further in.” The closest story I can think of in relation to the ending of Lost is Jonathan Livingston Seagull. If you haven’t read it, it’s about a seagull who wants to be more, so he learns to fly higher, and reaches higher levels of consciousness. Yes, it’s a little weird. But kind of beautiful in its way.

Now if we want to talk about the series as a whole, you’re going to laugh at what I think it’s like. I read this series of books between seasons 5 and 6. It was about a small group of people who were thrust into a mysterious situation that they didn’t understand. They found allies and enemies, and they often couldn’t be sure who was who. They were pursued by an evil presence, whose degree of evil was questioned near the end. They spent their time looking for answers to mysteries, some of which they never found. In the end, all they really needed was to be together. Sound familiar? I’m describing A Series of Unfortunate Events. Yes, the Lemony Snicket books. It’s like Lost for kids. Seriously, go read them.

Lost Sites and Stuff You Should Check Out

So that’s my little thoughts on Lost. If you want to find the seriously awesome people and resources in the fan community and continue the discussion, here are some links to check out:

  • The Lost Podcast with Jay and Jack
  • One of the most popular Lost podcasts, and still going strong. I’m doing my best to follow along with the rewatch. Just starting season 3.

  • Keys to Lost podcast
  • Great podcast to learn more about the music of Lost. Matt has reopened the podcast to discuss the show soundtracks.

  • JOpinionated
  • Expert in all things Lost and other great TV shows. Join in the Lost chat she’s co-hosting tonight.

  • Lostpedia
  • My go-to reference for all things Lost-related, from episode titles to theories to continuity errors.

One response »

  1. Pingback: More Teen Dystopia « Mariannerisms

Leave a Reply

