RSS Feed

To Coupon or Not to Coupon

Posted on

I know I said a while ago that I was going to be couponing this summer. I did it last summer, and it was kind of fun. You know, the thrill of the hunt and all that. I actually bought enough shampoo, conditioner, and body wash in a couple of months to last me all year. I just ran out of body wash last week, and I’ve still got a couple of shampoo/conditioner sets left.

I haven’t been able to work up the energy for it this year, though. It may be that I’m still decompressing from the stress of the school year. I’m starting to get interested in it again. We’ll see if anything comes of it. I’d really love it if I was able to do it low-key enough that I could sustain it even while I’m in school next semester.

Meanwhile, here are some of the resources I’ve found and used. Have some great ones yourself? Let me know!

Blogs and Boards

  • Krazy Coupon Lady – a daily blog with weekly store specials matched with coupons, plus all kinds of deals and freebies
  • Deal Seeking Mom – another daily blog, similar to the above
  • Hot Coupon World – a forum with boards for individual stores and general couponing advice, as well as more general discussions

Printable Coupons

Most stores will take these now.

  • Coupons.com
  • Red Plum
  • Like your favorite stores and brands on Facebook to get special offers.
  • Also, check the websites of you faves for coupons and specials. If they have a mailing list, sign up.
4 responses »

  1. I love to use coupons. You might say it is kind of an obsession of mine! I’m a busy 31 year old wife, mother, Christian, and work full time. I am able to save an average of 50% on my weekly grocery bills. I also have enough shampoo, body wash, toilet paper, etc to last me a minimum of one year 🙂 I actually started a Coupon Blog last week because of my crazy passion! It is doable to save money at the grocery store without spending all of your free time on it, which lets face facts is very little to begin with!

    Reply
    • Jersey, that’s cool! I know I just need to get over it and just spend a few minutes a week planning 🙂 It is a great feeling when I actually do it.

      Reply
  2. I find that the Sunday paper is usually enough for me, but then again, I am a household of one. If I find the $1 coupons for cover girl, all detergent, or pantene, then I will go get an extra paper. I am also really anal about my master list of the standard rotating sales so when CVS puts my All on for buy one get one free (making them $3.50 each) and I have my $1 coupon, I get my limit of 6. I wait for sales at Randall’s for soda or makeup, and for my PUR filter system, I double up on the target and manufacture’s coupons. They are usually about 2 weeks apart in the paper, but they are usually 8 week coupons, so plenty of time to wait them out. I end up saving $4-9 on the 3 pack of filters. I maybe spend 40 minutes a week on it, but carrying my pouch with me whenever I happen to hit that store means I never miss out or go out of my way. Let’s face it, spending all day hunting down a sale seems to take all the fun out and makes it exhausting. Let me know the brands you use and I will mail you the ones I get here. I just end up recycling them. It would be great to know you could use them.

    Reply
    • Yeah, I need to get organized enough that I carry it with me. I am not picky at all about brands when it comes to most toiletries, and I actually enjoy using different stuff, so I’ll take anything there. I’ll DM you on facebook.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

