RSS Feed

Fringe

Posted on

So I have a new TV obsession. I bought DVDs (Blu-rays, actually) of the first two seasons almost a year ago. But Lost was still on at the time, I was in school, and I was pretty sure that I would be obsessed with this show and want to watch them one after another. Turns out I was right about that. I’ve watched three seasons since the beginning of the year.

So what is it? Why it’s Fringe, of course! (Link is to season 1; seasons 2 and 3 are also available.) The premise intrigued me, and I watched the first couple of episodes when it first came on. It just didn’t hook me quite as fast as Lost had, though, and I didn’t have time to keep up with it. I gave up on it. Now, I realize that I quit just before it did hook me. It’s probably for the best, though, with all the other stuff I had going on at the time.

Fringe is a secret (obviously!) division of the FBI. Agent Olivia Dunham (Anna Torv) gets pulled into the division by Agent Broyles (Lance Reddick) in the first episode when she and her partner (who is also her secret lover) are called upon to investigate a mysterious happening that is tied to “the Pattern.” Olivia recruits Peter Bishop (Joshua Jackson) in order to get to his father, Walter (John Noble), a former scientist and current mental patient. Also playing significant parts in the show are Olivia’s assistant, Agent Astrid Farnsworth (Jasika Nicole), and Nina Sharp (Blair Brown), director of fictional mega-corp Massive Dynamic. It doesn’t take long for us to realize that many of the players know more about the Pattern than they are admitting. And just wait until you find out about the parallel universe!

This show has pretty much everything I love. Strange happenings. Science fiction elements. Heady themes about the nature of man and science. Complex characters with back-stories. And best of all an overarching mystery that doles out tiny clues all along the way.

Unfortunately for me, the show is still running, so I’m going to run out of new episodes pretty soon. I’m about to finish season 3, which is the last season available on DVD/Blu-ray. Season 4 is currently in progress. Fringe may have the distinction of being the first show to drive me to buying the episodes online rather than waiting for the DVD release. We’ll see. Fans seem to be really into season 4, and I’m just spoiled enough to know that season 3 is going to end on a big cliffhanger.

So if you can’t tell, I highly recommend this show! At least if you are a fan of shows like The X-Files and Lost I do.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: More Teen Dystopia « Mariannerisms

  2. Pingback: My Hopes for Fringe « Mariannerisms

Leave a Reply

