RSS Feed

Outlander, Part 2

Posted on

I’ve been thinking about Outlander a lot lately. Part of me wants to reread it, but with seven huge books, that’s quite a commitment. And I’ve got so many other books that I want to read that it’s hard to decide what to read first. On the other hand, I think it would be good to reread them all before the next one comes out next year. But then again, I’m honestly not sure if I have enough time to do that without neglecting the other really worthy books that I also want to get to.

I think I already told you that Diana Gabaldon has a podcast, also on iTunes. I should say, had; she hasn’t put out a new one in several years. However, she has become quite active on Facebook, where she often posts excerpts of the next Outlander book, Written in My Own Heart’s Blood. She’s also doing an imaginary casting call for a hypothetical Outlander movie.

She also may have inadvertantly come up with a solution to my reread dilemma – audiobooks. Audible.com is offering all seven unabridged audiobooks for just $7.49 each until May 1! You do need to be an audible.com member, but you do not have to sign up for a monthly plan in order to get this price. (You can sign up to be a member for free without committing to a plan.) It’s going to be a bit pricey to buy all of them at once, but with their regular prices ranging from $35 to $80, and with each clocking between 30 and 60 hours of entertainment, I think it’s a pretty hot deal. I think I probably will end up purchasing the set by Tuesday.

I’m really curious whether any of you have read these. I’d love to talk about the book in real life or on the blog! If you’re interested, leave me a comment!

4 responses »

  1. Followed you over here from Kindleboards to see what you write about on your blog. One of my reading friends LOVES Outlander. Probably one of her favs ever. I have the first and have just not been able to convince myself to read it. :>)

    Reply
    • Ha, it’s a daunting task, isn’t it? It was actually some of my Kindleboards friends who convinced me to give it a try, though, and I’m really glad I did. It has characters I just enjoy spending time with, you know? You might want to check out my previous post on Outlander as well.

      Reply
      • Well, it is long–and it’s really the time-traveling thing that puts me off of it. I’m not a big fan of that theme and I have only read a few (two by Holly Lisle…wasn’t so much time traveling as an alternate universe, but it did throw the character back to medieval times). They are okay, but I don’t know. The one I really enjoyed and the other, not so much.

        My friend would agree with you. She LOVES the books. I’m a very character driven reader so she’s probably right telling me I’d enjoy it!

  2. Pingback: Audible Love « Mariannerisms

Leave a Reply

