RSS Feed

Audible Love

Posted on

So I did buy the Outlander audio books – all seven of them – as I told you I thought I would. I’ve finished listening to Outlander, the first in the series. I’m catching up on some podcast listening before moving on to the next, but I am excited to start it.

The series is narrated by Davina Porter. At first I wasn’t sure how I felt about her voice. It’s a bit low-pitched for a woman’s voice, and even a little rough. She has definitely grown on me, though. She does a wonderful job of providing different voices to the different characters, and her accents are amazing.

As for the story, well, you know how I feel about it. I love spending time with Claire, Jaime, and the rest. I loved them in print (well, on the Kindle), and I’m loving them again in audio.

One last thing to note is that I’m not typically an audio learner. That’s probably why I’ve been so reluctant to get into audio books thus far. I have really gotten into listening to podcasts in the last few years, though, especially while at work and in the car, so I thought maybe it was time to give audio books a go. All that to say that I think I’m particularly enjoying the experience because I had already read the books. I worry that if listening was my first experience with the books I wouldn’t catch as much as I did reading them. Maybe that will be my next audible adventure – listening to a new (at least to me) fiction book. It will be a while, though, since I have a couple hundred more hours of Outlander goodness to enjoy!

Leave a Reply

